Whispered Announce New Album


“Epic” is a descriptive term bandied about a lot these days, but nowhere can it be used more fittingly than in describing the upcoming release from Finland’s Whispered! The masters of Samurai Metal are back with third album Metsutan – Songs of the Void, which is set for release on May 20th through Redhouse FMP / Inverse Records.

Metsutan – Songs of the Void is a complex masterpiece, addictive from the get-go. The band seamlessly fuse traditional Japanese instruments and atmospheres with Scandinavian melodic death making for a captivating listening experience throughout the album’s ten tracks.

Vocalist, guitarist and founding member of the band Jouni Valjakka talks on the lyrical themes explored on the album:
Similar to our last album Shogunate Macabre [2014], we move across many themes. We have songs about warriors, spirits, Japanese mythology and more. With this album we touch on a more spiritual side with our thematics… Strong concepts about determination, life, retribution and values of one overall.

The band teamed up once again with talented Japanese artist TOK who not only perfectly encapsulates the band’s visions she also acted as a mentor to ensure the band stays true to the core Japanese themes and concepts they explore on the album.

On this album TOK used a more ethnically authentic approach with the writing of kanji and the whole artwork,” comments Jouni. “Such as song names being displayed in old Japanese ‘seals’. TOK really understands the spirit of what we are trying to do, and lectures us about the visual aspects in Japanese culture.

Artwork on this album emphasises the story of the last and longest song on the album ‘Bloodred Shores Of Enoshima’, which is based on a Japanese mythology telling of a certain dragon and the goddess Benzaiten.

Track Listing
1. 血ノ舞 – Chi No Odori
2. Strike!
3. Exile of the Floating World
4. Sakura Omen
5. 劍聖 – Kensei
6. Our Voice Shall Be Heard
7. 月明 – Tsukiakari
8. Warriors of Yama
9. Victory Grounds Nothing
10. Bloodred Shores of Enoshima
Act 1. 五頭龍 – Gozuryu
Act 2. The Chord of a Goddess
Act 3. Divine Affection
Act 4. The Fury of the Five

More album updates in the coming weeks! Whilst you wait, you can check out our interview with Jouni in Finland from last year here, and also read our review of their last album Shogunate Macabre here!

About Natalie Humphries 1854 Articles
Soundscape's editor, who is particularly fond of doom, black metal and folk (but will give anything a chance). Likes to travel to see bands abroad when she can. Contact: nathumphries@soundscapemagazine.com or @acidnat on twitter.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.