Kuolemanlaakso Announce New Album

Kuolemanlaakso 2014

Finnish death doomsters Kuolemanlaakso have just announced their new album Tulijoutsen, set to be released on March 17 in the UK and has been billed as their most ambitious work to date.

Produced once again by the Triptykon and Dark Fortress guitarist V. Santura, Kuolemanlaakso’s sophomore album Tulijoutsen (The Fire Swan) explores unconquered grounds of heaviness, and pushes the band into a new level of melancholy. The 50-minute magnum opus was inspired by the grandeur of the Finnish forests, serene eeriness of the lakes and early 1900s poetry and folklore. Thus it was only natural for the band to live the lyrics, so to speak, and isolate themselves in a secluded location in the middle of the woods, and capture the true essence of the songs on hard disk.

Their debut release Uljas Uusi Maailma was almost entirely written by guitarist-keyboardist Laakso (Chaosweaver), whereas Tulijoutsen is much more of a band effort with other members providing an array of material, too. Maahy Abdul Muhsin provided the front cover paintings for both albums.

Tulijoutsen will be released as a limited digipak CD with an exclusive bonus track Raadot Raunioilla, digital download and two different limited vinyl editions: red (150 copies) and black (350 copies).

Kuolemanlaakso: Website|Facebook|Twitter

About Natalie Humphries 1794 Articles
Soundscape's editor, who is particularly fond of doom, black metal and folk (but will give anything a chance). Likes to travel to see bands abroad when she can. Contact: nathumphries@soundscapemagazine.com or @acidnat on twitter.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.