Soundscape’s A-Z Of Bands: PAIN

Pain Denis Goria
Photo by Denis Goria.

Considering the first ever thing I wrote for Soundscape was a live review of PAIN, I have a special affinity for this musical project so it was only natural that this week’s featured band would be the excellent musical project of Peter Tägtgren (also famed for being the vocalist/guitarist of Hypocrisy), PAIN. Mixing heavy metal with influences from electronic music and techno, PAIN started out as a hobby project for him, but has now seen a lot of success with seven full-length albums and several successful tours. The current touring lineup for the band is completed by David Wallin on drums, Michael Bohlin on guitar and Johan Husgafvel on bass.

PAIN’s most recent release is a live DVD entitled We Come In Peace and it symbolises all that’s great about PAIN’s live show, featuring a show at Debaser Medis in Stockholm, as well as footage of their Masters of Rock performance. It also has a documentary and a few music videos, and you can check out a trailer for it below.

Video courtesy of NuclearBlastEurope via YouTube.

It was announced in September that Tägtgren was working on material for the new album, with two songs already completed and a release date tentatively pencilled in for Summer 2014, so keep an eye on the site for further news because we’ll definitely be covering it!

Recommended tracks:
Nailed To The Ground
Same Old Song
The Great Pretender

PAIN: Website|Facebook|Twitter

Fan of PAIN or just getting into them? Have we missed one of their best songs? Let us know below!

About Natalie Humphries 1844 Articles

Soundscape’s editor, who is particularly fond of doom, black metal and folk (but will give anything a chance). Likes to travel to see bands abroad when she can. Contact: or @acidnat on twitter.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.